Gluten is a type of protein that is usually found in wheat, barley, and rye. The name gluten is derived from the Latin word ‘glue’ because of the sticky nature it gives flour when mixed with water. The sticky like property which bread has is the reason why it could rise when baked. This gluten also gives the bread a gummy texture when eaten. A gluten-free diet is a type of diet that does not have the protein gluten, such meals are meals that include grains like barley, rye, wheat and spelt. But there are some people who do not feel comfortable when they consume foods containing gluten, the reaction they get from eating such food is known as the celiac disease.

Gluten-free diets are common among people without any gluten-related allergy, they all claim that the diet has health benefits like weight loss, improved health and increase in energy. But for those that feel uncomfortable consuming gluten, the diet is useful in managing celiac disease and other gluten-related allergies.

1. GLUTEN FREE MEAT AND FISH

Meat and fish that are fresh are generally safe for consumption as a gluten-free diet. They include cuts of fresh meat from beef, pork, lamb, chicken, turkey and fish especially from your local grocery store or meat seller. However, you will need to avoid meats and poultry that have added ingredients which make them ready-to-eat or cook, they are not good for consumption since most stores use sauces that have unknown sources.

2. GLUTEN FREE MILK AND DAIRY PRODUCTS

Most of the available milk and many dairy-derived products are gluten-free. Plain milk no matter what type is gluten-free, but malted milk is not since they are made with barley. Other gluten-free dairy related products like cheese and ice-cream are available in stores around, but be careful of ice-cream that have cookies or dough in them.

3. GLUTEN FREE SNACKS

When it comes to the consumption of bread, you will have to pick from those bread brands that have gluten-free ingredients. Since most of the stores around sell bread made from gluten ingredients, you have to be sure by checking the label of the bread. Also, when looking for gluten-free snacks, check the labels for the ingredient used; available gluten-free snacks are always labeled as gluten-free, and they include gluten-free bagels, waffles, potato chips and many more.

4. GLUTEN-FREE FOOD AND VEGETABLES

For someone that loves fresh fruits and vegetables, they are all gluten-free. You can get these from the fruit section of various grocery stores. Most canned fruits and vegetable are gluten-free, but be sure to check the label if the ingredients used are not containing gluten.

5. GLUTEN-FREE GRAINS

Examples include the likes of rice, tapioca, buckwheat, tapioca, sorghum, corn, millet, amaranth, arrowroot, teff and oats (only if labeled gluten-free).

6. GLUTEN-FREE PREPARED FOODS

Consume frozen foods like pizza that are specifically marked "gluten-free", most bigger supermarkets have sections like that in their stores. Also, many of the canned foods like soups do contain gluten, be sure to check the label for the ingredients used, or you just stick to those that are labeled gluten-free.

Most of the healthy foods that are included under the naturally gluten-free types are the likes of fresh fruits and vegetable, cuts of fresh meat, poultry and fish, dairy products and oils. But foods like wheat, rye, and barley should all be avoided when going on a gluten-free diet.

The success that comes with going on a gluten-free diet all comes down to you making sure to check the labels of ingredients because some foods that you think less of do have gluten added to them. Most time, foods that contain gluten are always labeled as one. You won’t have any problem following a gluten-free diet if you focus on consuming only fresh foods, with a small number of processed foods.